the.recycled.recipe

learning to cook healthier & without a recipe!

Blackberry Cobbler

2 Comments

Mmmmm I love blackberries and all sugary creations made with them! I got a giant carton of blackberries at costco and decided the best thing to do with them was to make cobbler… and making cobbler meant I got to bust out the cast iron skillet which always makes me feel fancy and rustic, I don’t know if those two things go together…

This recipe originally came from allrecipes.com, see it here. I added a little whole wheat flour and flax to make myself feel better about all the sugar I was about to consume….

The recipe:

  • 1/2 c all purpose flour
  • 1/2 whole wheat flour
  • 2 tbsp ground flax meal
  • 11/2 c sugar (divided)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 tbsp cold butter
  • 1/4 c boiling water
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/4 c cold water
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 4 c rinsed blackberries

Preheat oven to 400 and cover a baking sheet with aluminum foil just in case any spills over.

In a medium bowl mix together the flours, flax meal, 1/2 c sugar, baking powder and salt. Cut in the cold butter until mixture is coarse and crumbly. I chop mine into little squares then work in by hand or with a pastry blender. Add 1/4 c boiling water to moisten. (Does anyone else have water explode when they microwave it? I don’t remember this happening before but it definitely did when I microwaved it for this recipe… maybe stick with the kettle or put it in a mug…)

Dissolve cornstarch into cold water and add lemon juice, the remaining 1 c of sugar and the blackberries. Toss until the blackberries are evenly covered by the mixture.

Put mixture into the cast iron skillet (I used a 10in skillet which made for a thin cobbler).

Bring to a boil and drop in spoonfuls of dough until used up.

Place the skillet on the foil lined baking sheet and bake for 25 minutes or until the dough is golden brown.

Serve it up with a little vanilla ice cream and enjoy!!

 

2 thoughts on “Blackberry Cobbler

  1. I was reading through some of your blog posts on this website and I believe this website is rattling informative! Keep on putting up.

Leave a Reply

