the.recycled.recipe

learning to cook healthier & without a recipe!

Multi-Grain Bread

Leave a comment

 

 

Day 1 of 5 days of fresh!

Whew! I did put 3 cups in!! I cooked this bread in the bread machine. It turned out pretty well, better than my last loaf but I have an ongoing problem of my bread from the bread machine being a little too dry (any suggestions??). I always add in a little extra moisture but… it’s still tasty just could be better. (O! btw… the meat and sweet potato mixture I talked about in the last post… not so good- it was edible but really not postable kindof nasty actually…)

The original recipe (from my Pillsbury Bread Machine Cookbook/handbook):

  • 1 c water
  • 3 cups bread flour
  • 1.5 tbsp dry milk
  • 1.5 tbsp molaasses
  • 11/4 tsp salt
  • 1.5 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 c multi grain cereal
  • 13/4 tsp active dry yeast
The recycled recipe:
  • 1 c water
  • 1 c bread flour
  • 2 c whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp vital wheat gluten
  • 1/3 c plain yogurt
  • 1.5 tbsp honey
  • 11/4 tsp salt
  • 1.5 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 c Bob’s Redmill 7 grain cereal
  • 13/4 tsp active dry yeast
In my bread machine you put all the wet ingredients in first and then the dry, make a little well in flour on top and add the yeast.
Made for a good egg, tomato, basil sandwhich!
Leave a Reply

