the.recycled.recipe

learning to cook healthier & without a recipe!

Creamy Broccoli and Potato Soup with Cornbread

Leave a comment

You have to really love goat cheese to love this soup. I saw a little blurb in Rachel Ray about three ingredient soups. This one was broccoli, potato & goat cheese. It just had you add water and salt and pepper and I decided to spice it up a bit. I liked cooking this recipe because it made me realize there are really basic elements to soup- you can make whatever soup you like if you know what you want! My idea for the basics of soup:

  • water or broth- more or less depend on the thickness of the soup
  • heavy cream or half and half for creamy soups like potato or wild rice soup
  • salt & pepper
  • other spices
  • probably some butter no matter what
  • a protein
  • some veggies
  • time to simmer
I know you all are probably saying… duh… but for some reason I just never thought to throw a bunch of stuff together to make a soup. Now I have. Now I will!
For this recycled recipe:
  • 1 tbsp of butter
  • 1 onion diced
  • 2 garlic gloves diced
  • salt & pepper
  • 3 celery stalks diced
  • 4 cups of broccoli
  • 2 baking potatoes diced
  • 21/2 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups water
  • 4 oz goat cheese
  • 2 handfuls of chives, chopped
  • heavy cream or half and half (optional)
There are a couple of things I would change about how I made this that I’ll insert in… Start by melting the butter over medium heat. Once it is melted add the onion and garlic. Let cook for about 5 minutes then add the celery. Cook until soft. Add a little salt & pepper. Next add the potatoes with the broth and water.(Or cook potatoes separately in a pan with water but still add broth and 1 cup water to soup- see below) Bring to a boil and then reduce to simmer. Simmer for about 15 minutes then add the broccoli. I used frozen broccoli which worked well. Cook until potatoes are soft then add the goat cheese, (If you don’t like goat cheese- don’t add it! It is REALLY strong. This would be just as good would a little cheddar cheese sprinkled on top) If you don’t add goat cheese add a little heavy cream or half and half here. Add the chopped chives. Next is where I would do something differently- Rachel Ray said to blend all the ingredients together in a food processor or blender- which I did. I don’t know about you but I really like chunks of potato in my potato soup. Next time I would separate out the potatoes and cook them separate, blend the rest of the soup- then add the potatoes.
This soup is really creamy and nice but I think I would leave out the goat cheese next time and just use a little cheddar on top.
For the cornbread:
It has the word ‘bread’ in it which is a guarantee that I won’t get some part of it right…
I used Mama Kim’s recipe which is southern and delicious!
The recipe goes like this….
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 c of milk
  • 1 dollop of plain yogurt
  • 1 cup self-rising cornmeal mix
I disregarded the importance of cornmeal MIX. Hmmm…. this is an important word at the end of cornmeal. I used medium grind cornmeal because it looked healthier and ended up with some crunchy cornbread. Come to find out, if you do use this medium grind cornmeal you need to add 1 c of whole wheat pastry flour and 4 tsp of baking powder. I did add baking powder but it didn’t do much with the cornmeal alone!
Anyway- use the right ingredients (I have in the past and it turns out so good!). Take out your milk and egg and let them sit on the counter.  Melt 1 stick of butter in a cast iron skillet or in a 8×8 baking pan in the oven while it preheats to 400. Take the pan out when the butter is melted and pour the butter into a mixing bowl, return the pan to the oven. Mix the egg and milk together as well as the dollop of yogurt (I used 2 dollops and added about 3 tbsp of flax). Mix the egg mixture with the one cup of cornmeal mix, add the butter after it has cooled a little bit and pour into the hot skillet. Mmmm listen to how it sizzles as it crisps up the bottom of the cornbread! Bake for 15-20 minutes. Then enjoy!
Leave a Reply

