the.recycled.recipe

learning to cook healthier & without a recipe!

Semi Successful Whole Wheat Bread

Leave a comment

Let me tell you something about bread. I love it. Let me tell you something else- I’m almost never successful at it. O well. Even when it’s not perfect- it’s still good. This bread was one of my best handmade whole wheat breads yet- which isn’t saying very much! I used a really simple bread recipe and added a little bit into it. I think the active dry yeast I got may have not been very good… I used it to make another bread which really didn’t turn out. For this recipe, I used a blog called wholewheatbreadrecipe.blogspot.com. It contains a really simple recipe:

3 1/2 cups Whole Wheat Flour
1/3 cup milk
1/4 cup honey
1 cup warm water
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 packet dry yeast

I added:

  • 3 tbsp of flax
  • 1 tbsp of wheat germ
  • 1/4 cup of buttermilk
Combine the water, (very warm but not boiling) and yeast.. It didn’t say to proof the yeast… that may have been the problem- it certainly wouldn’t hurt. I didn’t proof it but you should- let the yeast dissolve in the warm water for about 10 minutes by itself, until it is aromatic and completely dissolved. Then add the salt, oil, honey, milk,  flax, wheat germ and buttermilk. Stir to combine.
Slowly mix in the flour until it is all mixed in. This is a really nice, moist dough. Knead for 6-10 minutes until the dough is very smooth. There is a good video on kneading dough on epicurious here.
Next, put a little bit of oil in a large bowl and roll the dough in it. The recipe said to cover it with a towel and let it rise for 1 hour until it was doubled… mine took 3… I actually put it in the microwave with a mug of hot water for the last two hours. After those 3 hours it looked like this:
Still not completely doubled…
Then put the dough in a bread pan, I used a 9×5 and let it rise for another 30min to an hour (I did 1.5 hours) until it rises above the pan a little, I didn’t it make it there but it did get to the top of the pan!!
Lastly, bake at 350 for 40 minutes. After 20 minutes cover with some foil to keep it from browning too much. Let it cool then enjoy!
This turned out a little dense but still very edible. Michael’s dad really liked it, Michael said it could be fluffier, I agree. Flavor though- very tasty. We’ve both eaten sandwiches on it and enjoyed them so it’s approved!
Leave a Reply

