the.recycled.recipe

learning to cook healthier & without a recipe!

Buttery Herby Roasted Chicken

Leave a comment

I may be going a little overboard with butter lately… It’s just so good I can’t get past it. This recipe came from the last Food Network magazine. I’ll have to say I like my friend Michelle’s whole chicken recipe better than this one. It’s good, but its a lot of work for not that much better taste. This recipe has you leave the chicken uncovered in the fridge for at least 4 hours prior to prepping so the skin dries out, which does make for a delicious crispy skin after its cooked. Here is the recipe:

(I cut it in 1/2 from the original)

1 3-4lb chicken (another great thing you can get at Costco- whole organic chickens for not to expensive, it’s a great buy!)

11/2 tbsp butter, softened

1/2 tbsp chopped thyme plus a couple of sprigs

2 tsp fresh rosemary + sprigs (I only had dry, I fried my rosemary plant… you can use a couple shakes of dry)

1/2 lemon

1/2 onion

1 bulb of garlic with top chopped off (they call for 6 gloves for 2 chickens- using the whole thing makes it so good tho!)

3 bunches of scallions, quartered

1 pint grape tomatoes

1 tbsp olive oil

(this picture is after 25 minutes when you add the veggies. My angle was a little off on the finished product. I know it’s a dead chicken- but I felt like I was violating it’s privacy, so here’s a pic early on!)

ok- like I said- start the process early or the night before. Pat the chicken dry and season the skin and the inside of the chicken (make sure to remove the inards! Costco organic takes them out for you… another plus!). Refrigerate the chicken at least 4 hours uncovered. After it has been refrigerated, preheat the oven to 425. Mix the softened butter with the chopped spices. Take a spoon and carefully slide it in between the chicken skin and the actual meat…. yeah, you know whats about to happen!! Scoop some of the butter with the spoon and distribute underneath the skin as much as possible. Repeat until the butter is almost gone. I used the last bit on top which added the perfect brown after it was baked.

Squeeze the 1/2 lemon into the cavity then stuff the lemon in. Follow with the onion, garlic, thyme and rosemary sprigs. Tie the legs with twine, or you can be cheap (not that twine isn’t cheap, I just didn’t have any) and toothpick the legs together! Put in a roasting pan and roast for 25 minutes. After the chicken has been roasted for 25 minutes, toss the scallions and tomatoes with olive oil and salt and add to the roasting pan. Remove your toothpicks or twine from  the chicken and cook about 50 more minutes or until 170 degrees.

This was pretty good. Part of my problem may be that I don’t have a roasting pan with a rack (yes mom, add that to my Christmas list!) so the veggies were too gushy. I love roasted tomatoes but these were a little overwhelming to me. I also bought a giant thing of olive oil from Costco, and I know it sounds ridiculous but I think I’m over the flavor of the particular brand I have, even tho it’s mild. The skin is really the best part of this recipe- its crispy, buttery, herby, mmmmm, it’s really good. I would try this with some different vegetables at some point too!

 

Leave a Reply

