the.recycled.recipe

learning to cook healthier & without a recipe!

Homemade Croissants!

2 Comments

Hooray for a new cooking adventure!!! I got an amazing new cookbook- ‘Baking and Pastry’ by the Culinary Institute of America. I’ve always wanted to be able to understand and cook pastries and breads. I know they aren’t really healthy but they are delicious and if I’m eating well I can totally have a pastry here and there! These babies were a process- mentally prepare yourself if you decide to make them, it is a lot of fun but a lot of work. There are things I know to do differently next time, like finding a better way to pound out the butter and get the right yeast… but they were still very delicious and flakey. 

I learned that Instant Dry Yeast is totally different than Active Dry and Rapid Rise. If they had instant dry at Publix, I couldn’t find it. Instant Dry, unlike other yeasts doesn’t need to soak or have any warm liquids added to make your dough rise- its a beast and does what it needs to do without added help! The dough didn’t double in size (I used Rapid Rise) but they croissants were still a good size. I think they would have been bubblier had I had the right yeast. Michael still said these tasted just like some fresh baked croissants from a bakery and that was the best rating I could ask for!! 

I’m posting a picture from the cookbook for the recipe, its pretty detailed. If you need more info just let me know! The sticky note is the ratio for making 12 croissants. The cookbook gives a recipe to make 10lbs of dough, so for the precise recipes you have to divide your current recipe by the dough recipe to get your ratio for all your ingredients. I had to eyeball a few things but it worked!

After the dough is made (for 12 croissants), roll out into a 9in by 24in rectangle. Cut triangles that are 9in by 4cm, alternating cutting from the top and bottom. Cut a little slit in the base (I forgot to do this, probably would have made them curve better) and roll, putting slight pressure on the dough as you roll. Curve the ends in as much as possible. Put on a baking stone or a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Spread egg wash on top of croissants (1 egg and equal amount milk whisked together) and let rise for an hour. Preheat oven to 375, reapply egg wash and bake for 15 minutes!

My favorite way to enjoy croissants is with cream cheese and jelly- you should totally try it!!! Thank you Michelle and Katie for your help and your dishes! You both are so awesome!!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Croissants!

  1. Those look so good!

  2. Those look sooo delicious!!! Hope you saved me one!!!!

Leave a Reply

