the.recycled.recipe

learning to cook healthier & without a recipe!

Without a Recipe!

Leave a comment

So I came home with the intentions of making a creamy chicken with mushrooms recipe only to find that my mushrooms had gone bad. I decided to improvise which turned out not to bad! Luckily my friend Michelle had brought me some fresh basil and a red pepper from her garden that day which inspired me…

The recipe:

2 chicken breasts- cooked in the slow cooker on low for 8 hours- then shredded

Reserved broth from the slow cooker (I had added about 2 cups of water to the chicken and nature’s seasoning before I left home that day

1 large bell pepper

1 bag of baby spinach

1/2 onion, diced

2 cloves of garlic- mashed and chopped

8-10 fresh basil leaves

1 can chickpeas

A good few shakes of Nature’s Seasoning

Feta cheese to sprinkle on top

I started by sauteing the bag of baby spinach with a little olive oil, salt and pepper, and nature’s seasoning. While that was going I shredded my slow cooker chicken. After the spinach was done I put it in a bowl and covered it with a towel to keep it warm. Next heat oil in a skillet- saute the red pepper, onion, and garlic until onion is clear and soft. Add chickpeas and basil, saute, add chicken

Leave a Reply

