the.recycled.recipe

learning to cook healthier & without a recipe!

The First Attempt

3 Comments

So, my mom always taught me that 3 old bananas were always a good thing to have. Banana bread is one of my favorites but I wanted to make it a little more healthy than normal…

Thanks to Janet’s Rich Banana Bread recipe on allrecipes.com I got my base:

1/2 cup butter (mmmmm!)

1 cup sugar2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

11/2 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup sour cream

2 medium bananas

I bought chia seeds (http://www.mychiaseeds.com/Articles/Top10ChiaBenefits.html) the other day on my first adventure to Native Sun (amazing!) and wanted to use them in some way, so I learned from Chloe (mydietitianandme.com) that you can soak them in apple juice and add them in!

The revised recipe…

1/2 cup butter

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

11/2 cups all purpose flour

2 good shakes in of old fashioned rolled oats (about 3/4 cup?)

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3 big spoonfuls of Stonyfield whole milk plain yogurt

2 tbsp chia seeds soaked in:

1/2 cup Simply Apple apple juice

3 good sized bananas

baked at 350 for 75 minutes (I covered it with foil 40 minutes in so it wouldn’t get to crispy on top)

Results: pretty tasty! super moist and a good texture, it could maybe use something to firm it up a little bit since I added some extra liquids to it, maybe some flax sprinkles? Chia seed probably should have soaked for just a couple minutes more as well. I’d say 7.5 out of 10- my husband will be the true test!

listening while baking- gungor, enter the worship circle, david brymer

3 thoughts on “The First Attempt

  1. That’s really great, Sweetie. I’m impressed you know how to do a blog, the pictures look great, and I am glad you are so adventuresome(sp) with cooking. That takes guts and patience. Love you, Mama

  2. This sounds amazing! We’ll need to talk about the likings of chia seeds but I’m looking forward to trying thhe recipe. I thought of something else; you could maybe add agave nectar instead of sugar?? I think its 3 parts agave instead of 4 parts sugar. Love the blog!!

Leave a Reply

